Gate
Centralized exchangeA global exchange with a very large token catalogue; licensed entities in Malta, Dubai, Japan and the US.
- Spot fee
- 0.1%
- Discount when paying in GT
- Coins with a halal verdict
- 0
- of those listed here
- Available in
- 0 of 8
- countries we track
- Checked
- Sep 27, 2026
Reliability
5.9/ 10
Self-published proof of reserves at 115%; several Muslim-majority markets are restricted.
Score updated
- Proof of reserves5.5
- Licences8.0
- Incident history8.0
- Segregation of funds2.0
- Insurance fund5.0
- Security practices5.0
Liberandum halal verdict
Suitable with care
Spot trading is fine with care; avoid margin, futures, options, leveraged ETFs and Earn, and check every coin.
Use
- Spot trading, coin by coin
Avoid
- Margin, futures, options
- Earn, HODL & Earn, lending
More details
Gate offers spot trading with immediate settlement, which can be used in a Shariah-compliant way, but it has no Shariah-certified product and no Shariah screening of its large token catalogue. Use spot only, avoid margin, futures, options, leveraged ETFs and fixed-yield Earn, and check every coin on Liberandum first. Several Muslim-majority markets, including the UAE, Malaysia, Indonesia and Pakistan, are on the global platform's restricted list. Spot trading on Gate settles immediately: the buyer receives the coin and the seller the price in the same transaction, which matches the AAOIFI requirement of immediate delivery in currency and asset exchange (Shariah Standard No. 1) and the rules on the sale of commodities in organized markets (Shariah Standard No. 20). Gate also offers margin trading, perpetual and delivery futures, options, leveraged ETF tokens, copy trading of derivatives and Earn products with fixed or variable yield from lending. Margin and lending involve interest (riba), and futures, options and leveraged tokens involve deferred settlement and excessive uncertainty (gharar), so a Muslim investor should not use them. Gate has no Islamic account and no Shariah-certified product, and it does not screen listed tokens for Shariah compliance; its very large catalogue includes many coins that fail screening (lending tokens, gambling, meme coins), so each coin must be checked separately. Reliability is moderate (5.9/10). Gate publishes proof of reserves with a Merkle tree and zk-SNARKs (115% total ratio, $8.18 billion, in June 2026); the system was audited by Hacken in January 2024, but the reports themselves are self-published without a current third-party attestation. The group holds licences through separate entities (MiCA in Malta, VARA in Dubai, FSA in Japan, US money transmitter licences via Gate US). The global User Agreement does not state that client assets are segregated. Gate says it keeps a SAFU fund of over $100 million, without published addresses. No major confirmed hack of Gate in the last five years was found. Availability: the global User Agreement restricts the US, UK, Canada, several EU states, the UAE, Malaysia, Indonesia, Pakistan and Uzbekistan, among others, and says the list is not exhaustive; users in those places must use a local Gate entity where one exists (Gate Dubai, Gate Europe in Malta, Gate US) or another exchange.
How to use Gate the halal way
What is allowed and what to avoid on this exchange
- Allowed
Spot
Immediate settlement; screen each coin
- Allowed
Convert
Instant swap, settles like spot
- With care
Staking
No Shariah-certified staking
- Avoid
Savings and Earn
Earn, Simple Earn, HODL pay interest
- Avoid
Margin
Trading with borrowed money
- Avoid
Futures and options
Futures, options, leveraged ETF tokens
- Avoid
Loans
Lending products pay interest, avoid
- Avoid
Structured products
Fixed return, not certified
No dedicated halal product
As of September 2026 Gate offers no Islamic (swap-free) account and no Shariah-certified Earn or staking product. No Shariah board or certification by a Shariah advisory firm was found in Gate's announcements or licensing documents.
No token screening
Gate does not screen listed tokens for Shariah compliance. Its listing review covers project, legal and market risks, not Islamic finance criteria, so every coin must be checked on Liberandum before buying.
Step by step
How to trade halal on Gate
Open an account and pass KYC
Register on the Gate site for your country (the global site, or the local Gate entity if your country is on the restricted list, such as Gate Dubai for the UAE) and complete identity verification in the Account section.
Fund the account without interest
Deposit crypto from another wallet or buy through the Buy Crypto menu (P2P, card or bank transfer where offered). Keep the money in your Spot account; do not move it into Earn, Simple Earn, HODL & Earn or lending products that pay interest.
Check each coin on Liberandum
Gate lists a very large catalogue without any Shariah screening. Before buying, check the coin's halal status on Liberandum and skip lending, gambling, interest-based and meme tokens.
Trade only on Spot
Use Trade > Spot with market or limit orders, where the coin is delivered immediately. Do not use Margin, Futures, Options, Leveraged ETF tokens, Copy Trading of futures or futures trading bots.
Withdraw to self-custody
After buying, withdraw coins you plan to hold to your own wallet via Wallet > Withdraw, and enable 2FA and a withdrawal whitelist for the remaining balance.
Availability
Where Gate serves users and under which licence
Your country:Choose your country
- European Union
- Indonesia
- Malaysia
- Pakistan
- United Arab Emirates
- United Kingdom
- United States
- Uzbekistan
- Afghanistanno data
- Åland Islandsno data
- Albaniano data
- Algeriano data
- American Samoano data
- Andorrano data
- Angolano data
- Anguillano data
- Antarcticano data
- Antigua & Barbudano data
- Argentinano data
- Armeniano data
- Arubano data
- Australiano data
- Austriano data
- Azerbaijanno data
- Bahamasno data
- Bahrainno data
- Bangladeshno data
- Barbadosno data
- Belarusno data
- Belgiumno data
- Belizeno data
- Beninno data
- Bermudano data
- Bhutanno data
- Boliviano data
- Bosnia & Herzegovinano data
- Botswanano data
- Bouvet Islandno data
- Brazilno data
- British Indian Ocean Territoryno data
- British Virgin Islandsno data
- Bruneino data
- Bulgariano data
- Burkina Fasono data
- Burundino data
- Cambodiano data
- Cameroonno data
- Canadano data
- Cape Verdeno data
- Caribbean Netherlandsno data
- Cayman Islandsno data
- Central African Republicno data
- Chadno data
- Chileno data
- Chinano data
- Christmas Islandno data
- Cocos (Keeling) Islandsno data
- Colombiano data
- Comorosno data
- Congo - Brazzavilleno data
- Congo - Kinshasano data
- Cook Islandsno data
- Costa Ricano data
- Côte d’Ivoireno data
- Croatiano data
- Cubano data
- Curaçaono data
- Cyprusno data
- Czechiano data
- Denmarkno data
- Djiboutino data
- Dominicano data
- Dominican Republicno data
- Ecuadorno data
- Egyptno data
- El Salvadorno data
- Equatorial Guineano data
- Eritreano data
- Estoniano data
- Eswatinino data
- Ethiopiano data
- Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)no data
- Faroe Islandsno data
- Fijino data
- Finlandno data
- Franceno data
- French Guianano data
- French Polynesiano data
- French Southern Territoriesno data
- Gabonno data
- Gambiano data
- Georgiano data
- Germanyno data
- Ghanano data
- Gibraltarno data
- Greeceno data
- Greenlandno data
- Grenadano data
- Guadeloupeno data
- Guamno data
- Guatemalano data
- Guernseyno data
- Guineano data
- Guinea-Bissauno data
- Guyanano data
- Haitino data
- Heard & McDonald Islandsno data
- Hondurasno data
- Hong Kongno data
- Hungaryno data
- Icelandno data
- Indiano data
- Iranno data
- Iraqno data
- Irelandno data
- Isle of Manno data
- Israelno data
- Italyno data
- Jamaicano data
- Japanno data
- Jerseyno data
- Jordanno data
- Kazakhstanno data
- Kenyano data
- Kiribatino data
- Kuwaitno data
- Kyrgyzstanno data
- Laosno data
- Latviano data
- Lebanonno data
- Lesothono data
- Liberiano data
- Libyano data
- Liechtensteinno data
- Lithuaniano data
- Luxembourgno data
- Macaono data
- Madagascarno data
- Malawino data
- Maldivesno data
- Malino data
- Maltano data
- Marshall Islandsno data
- Martiniqueno data
- Mauritaniano data
- Mauritiusno data
- Mayotteno data
- Mexicono data
- Micronesiano data
- Moldovano data
- Monacono data
- Mongoliano data
- Montenegrono data
- Montserratno data
- Moroccono data
- Mozambiqueno data
- Myanmar (Burma)no data
- Namibiano data
- Nauruno data
- Nepalno data
- Netherlandsno data
- New Caledoniano data
- New Zealandno data
- Nicaraguano data
- Nigerno data
- Nigeriano data
- Niueno data
- Norfolk Islandno data
- North Koreano data
- North Macedoniano data
- Northern Mariana Islandsno data
- Norwayno data
- Omanno data
- Palauno data
- Palestineno data
- Panamano data
- Papua New Guineano data
- Paraguayno data
- Peruno data
- Philippinesno data
- Pitcairn Islandsno data
- Polandno data
- Portugalno data
- Puerto Ricono data
- Qatarno data
- Réunionno data
- Romaniano data
- Russiano data
- Rwandano data
- Samoano data
- San Marinono data
- São Tomé & Príncipeno data
- Saudi Arabiano data
- Senegalno data
- Serbiano data
- Seychellesno data
- Sierra Leoneno data
- Singaporeno data
- Sint Maartenno data
- Slovakiano data
- Sloveniano data
- Solomon Islandsno data
- Somaliano data
- South Africano data
- South Georgia & South Sandwich Islandsno data
- South Koreano data
- South Sudanno data
- Spainno data
- Sri Lankano data
- St. Barthélemyno data
- St. Helenano data
- St. Kitts & Nevisno data
- St. Luciano data
- St. Martinno data
- St. Pierre & Miquelonno data
- St. Vincent & Grenadinesno data
- Sudanno data
- Surinameno data
- Svalbard & Jan Mayenno data
- Swedenno data
- Switzerlandno data
- Syriano data
- Taiwanno data
- Tajikistanno data
- Tanzaniano data
- Thailandno data
- Timor-Lesteno data
- Togono data
- Tokelauno data
- Tongano data
- Trinidad & Tobagono data
- Tunisiano data
- Türkiyeno data
- Turkmenistanno data
- Turks & Caicos Islandsno data
- Tuvaluno data
- U.S. Outlying Islandsno data
- U.S. Virgin Islandsno data
- Ugandano data
- Ukraineno data
- Uruguayno data
- Vanuatuno data
- Vatican Cityno data
- Venezuelano data
- Vietnamno data
- Wallis & Futunano data
- Western Saharano data
- Yemenno data
- Zambiano data
- Zimbabweno data
- Country not found
Choose your country to see availability
Restricted in United Arab Emirates
- Licence
- UAE is on the global platform's restricted list; UAE residents are served by Gate Technology FZE under a VARA VASP licence (VL/25/04/007, April 2025).
- KYC
- Full KYC (ID + selfie) required under VARA rules before trading.
Not available in Indonesia
- Licence
- Indonesia is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.
- KYC
- Not applicable.
Not available in Malaysia
- Licence
- Malaysia is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.
- KYC
- Not applicable.
Not available in Pakistan
- Licence
- Pakistan is on the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement; no local licence.
- KYC
- Not applicable.
Not available in Uzbekistan
- Licence
- Uzbekistan is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.
- KYC
- Not applicable.
Not available in United Kingdom
- Licence
- The UK is on the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement; no FCA registration was found.
- KYC
- Not applicable.
Restricted in United States
- Licence
- The US is on the global platform's restricted list; Gate US, Inc. (NMLS 2272810) holds 36 state money transmitter licences, excluding NY, TX, WA, LA, AK and the US Virgin Islands.
- KYC
- Full KYC required by Gate US.
Restricted in European Union
- Licence
- Gate Technology Ltd (Gate Europe) received a MiCA CASP authorisation from the Malta FSA in October 2025 and started passporting in the EEA; the global site restricts France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Austria and Malta.
- KYC
- Full KYC required under MiCA and EU AML rules.
- United Arab EmiratesRestricted
UAE is on the global platform's restricted list; UAE residents are served by Gate Technology FZE under a VARA VASP licence (VL/25/04/007, April 2025).
- IndonesiaUnavailable
Indonesia is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.
- MalaysiaUnavailable
Malaysia is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.
- PakistanUnavailable
Pakistan is on the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement; no local licence.
- UzbekistanUnavailable
Uzbekistan is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.
- United KingdomUnavailable
The UK is on the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement; no FCA registration was found.
- United StatesRestricted
The US is on the global platform's restricted list; Gate US, Inc. (NMLS 2272810) holds 36 state money transmitter licences, excluding NY, TX, WA, LA, AK and the US Virgin Islands.
- European UnionRestricted
Gate Technology Ltd (Gate Europe) received a MiCA CASP authorisation from the Malta FSA in October 2025 and started passporting in the EEA; the global site restricts France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Austria and Malta.
Presence by country
- United Arab EmiratesGate Technology FZE holds a VARA VASP licence (VL/25/04/007, April 2025); the global site restricts UAE users.Licensed
- IndonesiaOn Gate's restricted list.Unavailable
- MalaysiaOn Gate's restricted list.Unavailable
- PakistanOn the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement.Unavailable
- UzbekistanOn Gate's restricted list.Unavailable
Reliability in detail
Overall 5.9 of 10
Proof of reserves
5.5Gate publishes proof of reserves with a Merkle tree and zk-SNARKs; the implementation was audited by Hacken (January 2024). The June 2026 report shows a 115% total ratio ($8.18 billion, nearly 500 assets), with USDT at about 101%. Reports are self-published, with no current third-party attestation; the reporting schedule is not stated.
Licences
8.0Separate group entities hold a MiCA CASP authorisation (Malta FSA, October 2025), a VARA VASP licence in Dubai (VL/25/04/007, April 2025), Japan FSA registration, 36 US state money transmitter licences via Gate US (NMLS 2272810), AUSTRAC registration and a CySEC licence (395/20). These entities serve their local markets, not the global platform.
Incident history
8.0No major confirmed hack or withdrawal freeze of Gate in the last five years and no regulator sanction for misuse of client funds were found in primary or reputable sources; scored below 10 because this could not be positively confirmed.
Segregation of funds
2.0The global User Agreement contains no statement that client assets are segregated from Gate's own. The Malta entity must segregate client assets under MiCA, but no confirmation of segregation for the global platform was found.
Insurance fund
5.0Gate says it keeps a user asset security fund (SAFU) valued at over $100 million in 2026; no wallet addresses or regular reports on the fund were found. Reserves above 100% in proof-of-reserves reports add a further buffer.
Security practices
5.0Gate says it keeps the majority of user funds in cold wallets and uses hot wallets for day-to-day withdrawals; 2FA and withdrawal whitelists are offered. The proof-of-reserves system was audited by Hacken, but no current SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certification was confirmed from a primary source.
Fees
Spot trading, deposits and withdrawals
Spot trading
0.1% maker · 0.1% taker
0.1% maker and taker at VIP 0 per Gate (August 2026); some reviews cite 0.2%, and live rates need login. Paying fees in GT gives a discount; VIP tiers lower fees.
Deposits
Crypto deposits are generally free apart from network fees; card and third-party fiat purchases carry provider fees. Exact fiat rails depend on country and were not verified.
Withdrawals
Crypto withdrawal fees are fixed per coin and network and are shown before confirmation; they change with network conditions.
Halal coins you can buy on Gate
Coins with a halal verdict listed on this exchange
No coins with a halal verdict on this exchange yet
Similar exchanges
Other large exchanges from our coverage